images (1)

Tagalog, simply speaking, is the language spoken by about one-fourth of the total population of the Philippines majority of which reside in the central and southern part of Luzon especially in the provinces of Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Cavite, Batangas, Quezon, Laguna and Rizal. Tagalog is also one of the second languages of the rest of the Filipinos being that Tagalog is used as a medium of instruction in the public school system. It is the common language of the Filipinos and the basis on which the national language, Filipino, is established.

During the Commonwealth Government of the Philippines where Manuel L. Quezon was president, preparations to make Pilipino the national language were laid down. It was during this period of Philippine history when the national language was finally declared making Tagalog the basis of its formation. Prior to that, Tagalog was declared as the national language by the first Philippine Constitution in 1897, the Constitution of Biak-na-Bato which is the pre-American Constitution.

Tagalog comes from the term taga-ilog which is formed from the words ‘taga,’ originating from, and ‘ilog,’ river. It later became Tagalog standing for people who originate from the river or river-dwellers. Without adding more fuss, Tagalog is the language in which Filipino, the current national language of the Philippines is based upon.

It belongs to the Astronesian group of languages where languages such as Malagasy, Indonesian, Malay, Tetum and Tao also fall under. Tagalog is closely related to the different languages of the different regions of the Philippines.